Menu

Webinars

IBPSA Education Webinars

Session-1: Introduction to Building Performance Simulation

Thursday, July 21, 2016, 14h00 UTC

by Jan Hensen and Roberto Lamberts

Jan

Hensen

Roberto

Lamberts

The first webinar of the series was held on July 21, 2016 by Jan Hensen (Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands) and Roberto Lamberts (Federal University of Santa Catarina, Brazil). The webinar provided a general view of the background and current state of building performance simulation and introduce the chapters of the book ‘Building Performance Simulation for Design and Operation’.
Watch Webinar Recording

Session-2: The Role Of Simulation In Performance Based Building

Thursday, Sep 1, 2016, 14h00 UTC
by Godfried Augenbroe

Godfried

Augenbroe

The second webinar of the series was held on Thursday, Sept. 1, 2016 by, Godfried Augenbroe. He directs the PhD and MS programs in High Performance Building in the School of Architecture at Georgia Tech. His research covers topics in computational building simulation, performance based design, uncertainty and risk analysis of building energy models. During session 2, he talked about Chapter 2: The Role of Simulation in Performance Based Building.
Watch Webinar Recording

Session-3: Weather Data For Building Performance Simulation

Thursday, Oct 6, 2016, 09h00 PDT (US West Cost), 16h00 UTC, 21h30 IST (India)

by Charles “Chip” Barnaby and Drury B. Crawley

Charles “Chip” Barnaby Drury B.
Crawley
The third webinar of the series is to be held jointly by Charles ‘Chip’ Barnaby and Drury B Crawley. Chip Barnaby, the President of IBPSA is a graduate from Harvard University and did his Post graduation in Architecture from University of California. Drury Crawley, Chair of Regional Affiliate Development Committee of IBPSA is a graduate from University of Tennessee and did his PhD in Mechanical Engineering from University of Strathclyde, Scotland. He is now Fellow and Director of Building Performance at Bentley systems, Washington. The upcoming webinar will describe the weather data requirements of Building Performance Simulation (BPS) applications, how those data are represented and available data sources. They will also talk about how ongoing development of remote sensing (satellite) observations and climate modelling methods are improving data availability and quality
Watch Webinar Recording

Session-4: People In Building Performance Simulation

Thursday, Oct 20, 2016, 17h30 CEST (Austria), 21h00 IST (India),

08h30 PDT (US West Cost)
by Ardeshir Mahdavi

Ardeshir Mahdavi
Ardeshir

Mahdavi

This talk addresses various aspects of people’s presence and behaviour in buildings and their implications for buildings performance. Specifically, it discusses the related modelling approaches and their utility in simulation environments for performance-based building design and operation support.
Watch Webinar Recording

Session-5: Thermal Load And Energy Performance Prediction

Thursday, Nov 17, 2016, 08h00 (Central US time), 14h00 UTC, 19h30 IST (India)

by Jeffrey D. Spitler

Jeffrey D. Spitler
Jeffrey D.

Spitler

The fifth webinar will be presented by Jeff Spitler, Regents Professor and OG&E Energy Technology Chair of mechanical engineering at Oklahoma State University. Prof. Spitler is a fellow of ASHRAE and IBPSA, and a past president of IBPSA. This webinar will give an overview of what’s at the very heart of building simulation: simulation of the building envelope and heat transfer within individual zones.
Watch Webinar Recording

Session-6: Indoor Thermal Quality Performance Prediction

Thursday, Jan 19, 2017, 08h00 (Central US time), 14h00 UTC, 19h30 IST (India)

by Christoph Van Treeck and Daniel Wölki

Christoph Van Treeck
Christoph Van

Treeck

The webinar provides an overview on human thermoregulation, thermal sensation and comfort perception. Influence factors and performance indicators for the assessment of thermal comfort in uniform and non-uniform environments are summarized. Comfort modeling and its use within the simulation environment is discussed at diverse levels of detail. We close the topic with the development and test of a new thermophysiological model implemented in the acausal modeling language Modelica. In this regard, we introduce a new type of comfort assessment system that can be used for the real-time assessment of local thermal comfort.
Watch Webinar Recording

Session-7: Daylight Performance Predictions

Thursday, Feb 23, 2017, 08h00 (Eastern US time), 13h00 UTC, 18h30 IST (India)

by Christoph Reinhart

Christoph Reinhart
Christoph

Reinhart

This talk provides an overview of the use of computer-based daylight simulations for building and urban design. Following a review of the history of daylight calculation methods over the past 100 years, we will focus on the evolution of daylighting metrics from the daylight factor to climate-based metrics, interactive glare evaluations and emerging circadian alertness predictions. The presentation will close with a series of case studies ranging from façade detailing to urban zoning studies. Christoph Reinhart is an Associate Professor in Building Technology at MIT where he leads the Sustainable Design Lab.
Watch Webinar Recording

Session-8: Room Acoustics Performance Prediction

Thursday, March 23, 2017, 17h30 CET (Austria), 22h00 IST (India), 09h30 PDT (US)
by Ardeshir Mahdavi

Ardeshir Mahdavi
Ardeshir

Mahdavi

This webinar addresses the acoustical aspects of the built environment. Starting from the foundations of building and room acoustics, relevant performance mandates and indicators will be presented. Specifically, modelling methods and tools in the area of room acoustics will be discussed.
Watch Webinar Recording

Session-9: Micro-cogeneration system performance prediction

Thursday, April 20, 2017, 15h00 UTC, 17h00 CEST (EU), 20h30 IST (India),

11h00 EDT (US Eastern time)

by Ian Beausoleil-Morrison

Ian Beausoleil-Morrison
Ian Beausoleil-

Morrison

This webinar, which will draw from material presented in Chapter 12 of the Hensen and Lamberts book, will briefly describe micro-cogeneration technologies that could be used for concurrently producing electricity and heat within homes and then discuss some of the complexities of predicting their performance within the context of BPS tools. Models that have been developed and implemented within BPS tools will be presented, followed by a discussion of their validation and application.
Watch Webinar Recording

Session-10: Building simulation for practical operational optimization

Thursday, June 1, 2017, 14h00 UTC, 09h00 CDT(USA), 19h30 IST (India)

by David E. Claridge

David E. Claridge
David E.

Claridge

Calibrated simulation is a powerful tool for practical operational optimization of building operation as part of the Existing Building Commissioning (EBCx) Process. This webinar will provide a brief overview of the EBCx process and then illustrate the use of calibrated simulation for practical operational optimization of building operation with case studies.
Watch Webinar Recording

Session-11: Building simulation in building automation systems

Thursday, June 22, 2017, 14h00 UTC, 16h00 CEST (Central Europe Summer time) and 19h30 IST (India)

by Gregor Henze

Gregor Henze
Gregor

Henze

This webinar builds on chapter 14 of the Hensen and Lamberts book and offers a treatment of the role of building automation and control strategies in the context of building performance modeling. In particular, we motivate the use of models for the advanced control of building energy systems by offering application examples employing both simple and more sophisticated building and system models for both instantaneous and predictive optimal control applications. In particular, we present the model development, calibration, and reduction process applied to any linear time invariant building energy problem using lumped parameter analysis and state space representation illustrated in the context of a low-level model predictive control task. Further, we will introduce a taxonomy of control model categories, which have been applied to a range of demand side flexibility studies including price responsive control of commercial buildings for price arbitrage, demand flexibility of commercial buildings for automatic demand response, residential building distributed MPC for feeder load shaping, and integrated end-to-end modeling of electric generation and load to assess the value of load flexibility in both a residential and a commercial context. Several application examples will be reviewed as part of the webinar.
Watch Webinar Recording

Session-12: Integrated resource flow modelling of the urban built environment

Thursday, July 20, 2017, 12h00 UTC, 08h00 (Eastern daylight / EST – USA) and 17h30 IST (India)

by Darren Robinson

Darren Robinson
Darren

Robinson

This webinar relates to chapter 15, on integrated urban resource flow modelling. After setting the scene, in terms of the rates and consequences of urbanisation and the associated need for models to support the formulation of policies, plans and strategies to mitigate adverse consequences of urbanisation, the nature of the integrated urban modelling challenge will be described. This will consider the range of principle urban systems to be modelled and the data and computational challenges that need to be overcome in this endeavour, as we strive towards the development of comprehensive and useful urban policy and planning decision support. Alternative urban building energy modelling strategies will then be described, placing particular emphasis on city-scale building energy modelling; comparing detailed microsimulation with the simulation of and extrapolation from building typologies.
Watch Webinar Recording

Session-13: A view on future building system modeling and simulation

Thursday, Sept 21, 2017, 11h30 EDT (Washington DC), 16h30 BST (London), 08h30 PDT (San Francisco), 21h00 IST (India)

by Michael Wetter

Michael Wetter
Michael

Wetter

Buildings and community energy systems continue to require increased performance, provide services to the grid, and facilitate the integration of renewable energy and waste heat sources, while providing better comfort. Consequently, their energy and control systems are becoming more integrated and complex. Arguably, current building simulation programs have not been designed with these new and emerging requirements in mind. This talk therefore present technologies and open-standards that are well positioned to address these new challenges. It will explain underlying principles for modular modeling that allows reasoning about the system as well as formal manipulations of the model to address different applications, ranging from design to verification and operation of building systems.
Watch Webinar Recording

Session-14: Building simulation for policy support

Thursday, Oct 12, 2017, 17h00 BST (London), 12h00 EDT (Washington DC), 09h00 PDT (San Francisco), 21h30 IST (India)

by Drury B. Crawley

Drury B. Crawley
Drury B.

Crawley

The role of building performance simulation in supporting building policy decision-making is presented through several examples. These include: (a) development and evaluation of building energy efficiency standards (b) setting building performance levels for utility incentives (c) evaluating potential impacts and direction for energy efficiency building retrofit programs, and (4) sector-wide technology performance studies. The critical role of building simulation in policy making is emphasized.
Watch Webinar Recording
 

IBPSA conference keynote collection series

Episode-1: ‘The world needs building simulation : Are we ready?’

Wednesday, Nov 30, 2016, 15h00 UTC

by Ian Beausoleil-Morrison

Ian Beausoleil-Morrison
Ian Beausoleil-

Morrison

​This webinar, a repeat of a keynote talk that was given at IBPSA-England’s Building Simulation and Optimization 2016 conference, makes the case for why the world needs building simulation. It then describes what we as a community need to do to rise to the challenge, and argues the need for reforming the ways in which we teach BPS.
Watch Webinar Recording
Please provide your feedback about IBPSA Education activities to Prof. Rajan Rawal, CEPT University, Ahmedabad, INDIA on rajanrawal@cept.ac.in